top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureErin Curry

Video Discussion Board #2




I collect information from my students mainly through direct observation, which Westminster (2020) states is a helpful way to gain understanding of student behaviors as well as their academic thought processes. I also collect information using the tool Nearpod so while we are working through a lesson I can take a poll of my students, ask a short answer questions, or have them draw a response to the topic, which gives me insight to their understanding.

The collection and analysis methods discussed in Roblyer & Hughes (2019) seem most applicable to higher grades, and because I teach Pre-K through 6 grade, my methods look a little different for teaching students how to gather information. For my 2nd graders, for example, we do a unit on space and satellites. I let my students gather information from library books before they put it into a presentation to show what they learned. For my 3rd graders, they learn how to use QR codes to visit different research websites, they gather their information there, and then they create a digital book to share what they have learned. These are age-appropriate ways that I use for my students to gather and analyze data.

Roblyer, M. D., Hughes, J. E. (2019) Integrating Educational Technology into Teaching. [Chegg]. Retrieved from https://ereader.chegg.com/#/books/9780134746296/

Westminster, Lucie. (2020, May 26). What Are Some Methods of Data Collection in a School Setting?. classroom.synonym.com. Retrieved from https://classroom.synonym.com/methods-data-collection-school-setting-8167298.html

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page